Katherine Lang, museum board member and past president, and museum supporter Terry Hussey discuss the exhibit’s artwork.
Artists, friends, family and supporters of the Beaufort History Museum sipped wine, enjoyed the music of the Beaufort Youth String Quartet and toured a retrospective art exhibit that honored members of the Fine Arts Committee, a group active in the l960s that procured many fine pieces for the museum.
The event, held June 9 at the museum’s current City Hall location, showcased pieces in the museum’s own collection as well as the work of local artists and works with a local influence.
The Beaufort History Museum was originally chartered in 1939. It has evolved to focus specifically on the deep and rich history of the Beaufort District. It strives to manage and display artifacts and documents held by the City of Beaufort, telling the compelling stories of this area from the early 16th Century until modern times. Through community engagement, children’s programs, educational opportunities and social events the Museum provides many services to visitors and local residents.
The Beaufort History Museum is currently located at 1911 Boundary Street on the first floor of the Beaufort City Hall. It will be relocating to the Arsenal (713 Craven St.) after July 14, 2014.
Our mission is to preserve, promote and interpret the experiences of our past that influence us now and in the future.
The Beaufort History Museum is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization. 713 Craven Street, Beaufort, SC 29902